Who We Are
 
Established in 1992, Sowers Action (Tax Exemption No.: 91/3859) is a non-religious, non-political and non-profit-making charitable organization in Hong Kong, committed to promote education aid in rural China by helping poor or disabled students to complete their education,reconstructing schools and facilities that fulfill safety regulations and improving the quality of teacher training. Emphasizing “On-site Assessment, Direct Subsidy and Long Term Follow-up”, we raise funds for education aid and operational expenditure separately to ensure donations are used effectively. Major fundraising events, including “Challenging 12 Hours Charity Marathon”, “Walk to Guangzhou”, “Long March for Education”, “Ancient Tea Horse Route Expedition” and “Cycling for Education”, are held annually to raise public awareness. In response to the nation’s changing needs, we have adopted an approach of “multipurpose educational aid”, extending our focus from hardware facilities to four major areas: special education, teacher training, student sponsorship, and school construction and facilities, with the aim of fully utilizing our donations and resources.

Our First Pace

At the end of 1992, two founding members of Sowers Action silently went on their mission. After spending one whole day on the bus, they arrived in the impoverished mountainous regions of Guangdong Province (Qingyuan City Yangshan County), making Sowers Action’s first pace in education assistance.

Yangshan was a bleak and remote place with a limestone terrain, so this was no good for agriculture. China’s famous scholar Han Yu called this region “The impoverished spot under the sky.” Almost 90% of the population here consisted of impoverished farmers whose crops could barely afford to keep them alive.

Propelled by passion and faith, even with limited experience and means, the two pioneers of Sowers Action visited many primary schools and started to conceptualize plans for education assistance. At that time, thrilled with the initial encounter with an education assistance organization from Hong Kong, government leaders and school principals of Yangshan County could hardly conceal their ardent hope and expectation.

The First School

The original building housing Chenjiajie Primary School in Hanjiaping Village, Liangshuikou Town, Sangzhi County, Hunan Province was a two-storey wood structure erected over 70 years ago. The consistent lack of repair and maintenance had turned it into a Class I dangerous building. In 1992, a male student who, accidentally stepped onto a rotted floor board, fell through the second floor and became crippled.

The entire village decided to rebuild the school and turn it into a new building of 240 sq.meters, and the total construction cost came to RMB70,000. Even though all villagers had contributed their share, all they could come up with was RMB40,000, which sufficed only for purchasing construction materials. This led to the first on-the-spot investigation conducted by Sowers Action in August 1993, which resulted in the organization’s decision to provide the villagers with monetary assistance (RMB 30,000 Yuan, approximately 40% of the construction cost) and joint force with the County government to re-build the school with reinforced steel and concrete. The new school building complete with classrooms, boarding quarters, a kitchen and toilets was completed in April 1994. This became the first school the re-building of was assisted by Sowers Action.

In 1995, Sowers Action again assisted in building a wall around the school, repair the school’s main gate, pave the muddy ground in front of the school with concrete and turn it into a football field. The completeness of school had brought a sense of belonging to both the teachers and students.

The First Student Receiving Assistance
 
Yucheng County in Hunan Province was the first county where Sowers Action started its assistance work. This was a province-level impoverished county with better natural resources. There were over 50,000 children in the villages attaining school age, but the school-entering rate was only 92%.

During an initial visit to Yucheng County in 1993, Sowers Action’s work team visited Xu Lianghai, a lower-secondary student who had dropped out from school. It was found out that Xu’s father was suffering from persistent feet ailment, his mother was slightly mentally retarded and his sister had died the year before from lack of treatment as a result of poverty. Sowers Action hence provided assistance to Xu to resume schooling, making him the first lower-secondary student to receive assistance from the organization.

Unfortunately, in 1995, Xu’s father died. Xu was simultaneously obliged to tilt the duty-bound land left behind by his father, take care of his mother, and find means to repay the debt incurred earlier by providing medical treatment to his father and sister. Again, Xu was about to face the fate of dropping out.

After learning of Xu’s dilemma, Sowers Action again provided assistance to Xu. In 1996 summer, Xu Lianghai finally graduated from lower-secondary. In August of the same year, Sowers Action managed to contact “Friends of Light” in an attempt to pass Xu to their care. Thereafter, a work team was dispatched to Yucheng County to escort Xu to Guangdong Province’s Qingyuan City where “Friends of Light” was running a higher-secondary school for the poor. Xu was accepted by the school and settled there. Since Xu’s mother in Yucheng was cared for by the government, Xu could concentrate on his studies in Qingyuan.

The First Teacher Training School

To increase the number of village teachers, Sowers Action assisted in re-building a teacher training school in Sangzhi County for the purpose of providing teachers working in mountainous regions with the opportunity to undergo training, hence enhancing the advantage for them to remain in such regions.

Actually, there was a teacher training school built in 50's, however, a fire accident in 1989 destroyed the woody school, equipments and books. The County tried very hard to raise fund for rebuilding of training school, however, it was still not enough.

After conducting rounds of visit in 1995, we decide to sponsor one-third of the total amount of construction costs enabling the reopening of school in 1995. Currently, the teaching training school plays a vital role in upgrading teaching quality, and there are about 500 teachers receiving on-the-job training every year.

苗圃简介
 
苗圃行动於 1992 年9月在香港注册成立(税局档号IRD Ref:91/3859),是一个非宗教丶非政治丶非牟利的慈善机构。我们以促进中国教育为宗旨,透过一系列实际行动,帮助中国贫困或残障学生完成学业,重建符合安全规格的校舍及设施,以及提高教师的教学素质。我们强调「实地考察丶直接资助丶长期跟进」,并分开筹募助学捐款及运作经费,使捐款得以善用。我们每年均举办「挑战12小时慈善越野马拉松」丶「行路上广州」丶「助学长征」丶「茶马古道」和「单车助学行」等大型筹款活动,积极推广助学信息。因应社会变化,我们近年开展了「多元助学」模式,从重点硬件设置,转移到特殊教育丶师资培训丶学生资助和建校及配套四大范畴,让所得善款和资源发挥最大的效益。

 
苗圃行动的第一步
1992年底,苗圃行动的两位创会会员默默地上路,花了一整天的车程,来到广东省清远市阳山县贫瘠的山区,踏出了苗圃行动助学的第一步。   

阳山偏远荒芜,地质以石灰岩为主,不利耕作,该区被大文学家韩愈称为「天下之穷处」。居民近九成是贫农,种得的庄稼,仅可供糊口。

苗圃行动两位先锋凭着一腔热诚和一份信念,在很有限的经验和资源下,探访了多所小学,开始构想助学的具体计划。当年阳山县的领导和校长们初次接触香港的助学团体,显得十分兴奋,对我们流露着不少期望。
 
第一所学校
湖南省桑植县凉水口镇韩家坪村陈家界小学,原本的校舍是一幢在七十年前修建的二层高木楼,因长年失修,已成一级危房。1992年,一名男生不慎踏着腐烂了的木板,从二楼摔了下来,变成伤残。

全体村民决定重建该校,盖一所 240平方米的校舍,工程总造价为七万元人民币,可是集村民之力,只能筹得约四万元的建筑材料。苗圃行动於1993年8月初次实地考察,决定与该县政府合力以钢筋水泥重建此校,资助了三万元人民币(约总造价的 40%)。一幢包括了教室丶宿舍丶厨房和厕所的校舍於1994年4月落成,是为苗圃行动第一所资助重建的学校。

1995年间,苗圃行动进一步为该校筑建围墙丶重修校门,更把校前泥泞满布的空地修建成水泥球场,使它成为一所完整的校舍,为师生带来一份浓厚的归属感。
 
第一批资助的学生
雷见娣为广东省阳山县人,从小家贫和务农为生,但正如上述,阳山县乃一贫困县,当年农民生活极其困难,孩子读书丶特别是一个重男轻女之农村社会,女孩子读书更为困难,还幸她父母不分男或女以同样平等对待之心态让她读书识字,而苗圃人更无男女之别,因而她就被选为第一批受资助之学生。

雷见娣亲述
 
湖南省汝城县是苗圃行动在湖南第一个展开工作的县,它是一个天然资源较丰富的省级贫困县,农村适龄入学儿童有五万多人,但入学率只得92%。

工作组於1993年初访汝城,探访了一位已辍学的初中学生徐良海。 他的父亲脚患顽疾,母亲弱智,妹妹於年前因患病没钱延医死掉。苗圃行动帮助了徐良海重返校园,他是第一批获资助的初中生。

可是,在1995年间,他的父亲不幸病逝,徐良海一边耕着父亲留下的责任田,一边念书,还要照顾母亲,及设法偿还父亲和妹妹患病时欠下的债,停学的命运再度迫近徐良海。

苗圃行动得悉徐良海的遭遇,再次为徐良海提供援助。1996年夏天,徐良海终於初中毕业了,同年8月,苗圃行动与另一助学团体「光明之友」联络上,试图「火炬接力」,派出工作组员把徐良海从汝城送到广东省清远市,交托予「光明之友」在那儿开办的一所设有高中扶贫班的中学。同时,乡间的母亲得到了政府的照料,徐良海便得以继续升学。

徐良海给苗圃的信
  徐良海的感谢信
 
第一所教师进修学校
为了增加乡村教师的数目,苗圃行动在桑植县资助重建了一所教师进修学校,为山区教师提供培训机会,增加留在山区教书的吸引力。

桑植县於50年代已建了一所教师培训学校,但在1989年的一场大火,把本来用木搭建的校舍丶教学仪器及二万多册图书全部焚毁。该县政府竭力集资重建该校,但多年来仍然无法筹得全数所需资金。

经两次实地探访,於1995年决定资助该项工程总造价的三分之一,使培训学校在该年9月竣工。现时每年均 550名教师接受在职培训,提高教学质素。